On a beautiful night in Miami, more than 300 guests packed the W South Beach Hotel & Residences to honor the first BrazilFoundation Gala in Miami.  A dream of founding president, Leona Forman, since she began the institution, finally became a reality.  “It’s very exciting to achieve this new chapter,” said Leona.


Helio Castroneves, chair of the event, welcomed our 300 guests along with the Co-Chairs Daniela Fonseca and Maria Carolina Tavares de Melo, and the Honorary Chair Ambassador Helio Vitor Ramos Filho. After the cocktail, guests were welcomed into the ballroom by Public Relations and Fashion Consultant Lorenzo Martone and the Brazilian supermodel Isabeli Fontana.


After some short presentations, the BrazilFoundation’s Founding President Leona Forman thanked everyone who has helped to make this dream a reality. BrazilFoundation honored Norberto Odebrecht for his work as head of the Odebrecht Foundation. The CEO of Odebrecht in the United States, Gilberto Neves, received the award on his behalf. The artist Romero Britto received a special Brazilian Community Award.


Following dinner, some items were auctioned off and others awarded to various Gala attendees. Among the items were a helmet belonging to Helio Castroneves, which was painted by Romero Britto exclusively for this event.  The event raised US$250K through ticket and table sales, donations, and the auction.


Similar to the last Gala in New York, Brazilian singer Preta Gil ended the evening with her contagious spirit playing Brazilian classics. She also performed “Garota de Ipanema” with the 12 year old American daughter of Brazilian Gabriela Figueiredo, thrilling all of the guests.


DJs Sean and Anthony Souza, who are confirmed for the After Parties on Madonna’s 2012 world tour, heated up the dance floor after Preta Gil’s performance.


The BrazilFoundation’s CEO Patricia Lobaccaro was very happy with the results of this unforgettable night, and remarked that this is a new stage to the Foundation. She celebrates the fact that these resources will benefit even more organizations that are working to generate opportunities and promote sustainable development in Brazil.


Click here to see Photo Gallery

HOST COMMITTEE: Adriana Adelson; Alice Braga; Alix Duvernoy; Ana Lucia C. Dutra; Barbara Paz; Bruno Tavares; Carime Lobo; Carol Bittencourt; Chris Delboni; Cristiane Cavalcante; Flavia Macuco; Frederico Gouveia; Helio Campos; Isabeli Fontana; Jessica Carvalho Morris; Julio Lage; Julio Santo Domingo; Kelly Piquet; Lais Matos; Luciana Curtis; Luciana Fragali; Luigi Tadini; Luiz Felipe Diniz; Luisa Moraes; Marjorie Pilli; Matheus Mazzafera; Natalia Beber; Nelsinho Piquet; Pedro Bras; Roberta Martins; Saulo Ferraz; Scila Suris; Scott Mitchem; Sergio Esteves; Silvia Pierson; Tassara Vilaca

BENEFACTORS: Aline & Seth Cohen, Banco Espirito Santo, Elite International Realty, Goldman Sachs; Graff Diamonds; Karim Masri; Kathryn & Sidney Taurel; Morgan Stanley Smith Barney; Odebrecht; Piquet Realty; The Collection

PATRONS: Andre Laport; Banco Itau Europa International; Centro Cultural Brasil USA-FLORIDA; Paulo & Maria Carolina Tavares de Melo; Nick & Patricia Lobaccaro; Shutts & Bowen; Tyco