III Gala Miami, March 15, 2014

BrazilFoundation received guests for its III Gala in Miami, which took place on March 15th at the Pérez Art Museum, state-of-the-art, sustainable museum designed by Herzog & de Meuron. The event raised enough funds to support 10 social projects to be selected during the 2014 annual selection.Looking to promote ideas that result in better living conditions for thousands of Brazilians, the Foundation honored individuals and organizations that have distinguished themselves in the world of philanthropy: José Dias Campos of the Center for Popular Education and Social Education (CEPFS) received the award for work that promotes sustainable development in the semi-arid region of Paraíba; Bianca Senna received an award on behalf of Ayrton Senna Institute, which works to improve the quality of education in Brazil;Ivete Sangalo was presented the Global Brazilian Award, for her role as “godmother” of Quabales, a social project that offers dance and percussion workshops for children and youth of Northeast Amaralina in Salvador, Bahia; and Darleen Callaghan, director of the Miami City Ballet School, received the International Philanthropy Award for overseeing the school’s summer internship program offered to Brazilians.

The evening’s festivities also benefited of Sabrina Sato and the stage presence of journalist Pedro Andrade, who acted as MC of the event for the second year in a row.  Aside from the memorable performance by Quabales, which brought everyone to their feet, two Brazilian dancers from the Miami City Ballet School, Mayumi Enokibara and Luiz Fernando da Silva, put on a performance that left the audience captivated.

Grand Benefactors: de GRISOGONO, Mandarin Oriental Miami, Wictor Arraes & Luiz Fleury
Benefactors: Andre Laport, Banco do Brasil, Goldman Sachs, HSBC Private Banking, Itaú Unibanco, Paulo & Maria Carolina Tavares de Melo, Piquet Group, Randy & Gisela Millian, Shutts & Bowen, World Fuel Services.
Honorary Chair: Ambassador Hélio Vitor Ramos F., Consul General of Brazil in Miami
Co-Chairs: Daniela Fonseca Puggina and Maria Carolina Tavares de Melo
Benefit Committee: Alexandre Piquet, Amelia Whitaker, Luciana Fragali, Marcio Torres
Host Committee: Aline Coutinho , Ana Dutra, Ana Paula Gonçalves, Anna Di Stasi, Brian Kelly, Daniel Urzedo, Donnamarie Baptiste, Flávia Macuco, Gene de Souza, Lilly Sarti, Luciana Ferri, Maria Antonieta Leininger, Mariana Lima, Marina Morena, Mario Bernardo and Schynaider Garnero, Martha Graeff, Natália Beber, Nathalia-Abi-Ackel, Patricia Brandão, Paula Proushan, Renato Haramura, Roberto Knibel, Scila Scuris, Sérgio Esteves, Tatiana Pilão, Thiago Senna.


Global Brazilian Award

Ivete Sangalo

Brazilian singer

International Philanthropy Award

Darleen Callaghan

School Director of the Miami City Ballet School


José Dias Campos

Founder of the Center for Popular Education and Social Formation (Centro de Educação Popular e Formação Social)


Paula Senna, on behalf of Instituto Ayrton Senna

Advisory Board and the Family Board of the Institute Ayrton Senna.


Sponsors artefacto credit     audemars
 Goldman-Sachs integra
Official Airline american-airlines
Official Accomodations st_regis


Invalid Displayed Gallery